Honorary Degrees and Distinguished Awards Committee Fall 2021

http://fora.aa.ufl.edu/FacultySenate/Committees/ Honorary-Degrees-and-Distinguished-Awards-Committee

- Committee: Eight faculty members (Professor or above with strong records of teaching and research from diverse fields) elected by the Faculty Senate
- Chair: Elected by committee

2020–21 COMMITTEE MEMBERS

- Rick Yost, Chair
- Heather Ashley
- Paul Basler
- James Collins
- Margaret Hendryx

- Berta Hernandez-Truyol
- Raymond Issa
- Mario Poceski
- Ruth Steiner
- Michael Weigold

<u>Awards</u>

- Honorary Degrees
- Distinguished Alumnus/Alumna Awards
- Distinguished Achievement Awards
- Stephen C. O'Connell Distinguished Service Awards

- Formulates principles for conferring honorary degrees and distinguished awards
- Solicits and reviews nominations each fall and spring
- This fall only 3 nominations total:
 2 HDs, 1 Distinguished Alum
 - All males
 - All white

Fall 2021 Candidates for Honorary Degree:

- James Hines
- Tom Petty

James Hines- HD of Science

- BS Mathematics 1979 Maryland; an impactful wildlife ecologist
- Computer Scientist, US Geological Survey Eastern Ecological Science Center
- Software development, biometrics, and animal population ecology
- 3 books, >200 referred papers, h-index 85, very high for a non-academic
- Close collaboration with UF Wildlife Ecology in research, and has taught courses
- Vetted by the UF Wildlife Ecology faculty

Tom Petty (posthumous) – HD of Music

- Achievements as a performer and songwriter, defense of performing artists' rights
- Received UF's Distinguished Achievement Award in 2006
- Star on Hollywood Walk of Fame, inducted into Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, 3 Grammy Awards
- Charitable endeavors in aiding the homeless
- Unanimous support of School of Music faculty